Little Hawkeye Conference trophy honors Van Horn



(Photo by Derek Akers)

To honor  former Athletic Director Bill Van Horn, the Little Hawkeye Conference has named the Little Hawkeye Conference Championship trophy in his honor. Pella High was just named the first winner of the traveling trophy.

“Hopefully, we can keep it for awhile,” said current Athletic Director Dale Otte.

The trophy is based on points from final rankings in the conference for each sport except football (football doesn’t do conference play). The team at the top of the Little Hawkeye standings at the end of that sports season gets the most points, and it goes down from there. This was done to encourage better competition among schools in the conference.

The trophy will be presented  during halftime of the home football game Sept. 13.