Boys Basketball Team Awards Announced



The boys’ basketball team announced team awards capping off their 2013-2014 season at their March 13 banquet.

Senior Jordan Pingel won the perseverance and most inspirational award, and senior Nathan Clayberg won the leadership award. Junior Ryan Wichhart was named the best practice player award while senior Bryce Bortscheller was most improved player. Junior Seth Johnson was acknowledged with the positive attitude award, along with being announced team captain alongside junior Isaac Naaktgeboren.

Naaktgeboren and Pingel were unanimously selectedfirst team all conference while Bortscheller was selected second team all conference. Honorable mentions went to Clayberg and Johnson.

Throughout the season, the team finished second in the Little Hawkeye Conference, were undefeated in non-conference games and finished with an overall 19-4 record.

Individually, Johnson was included in the top 10 in Class 3A for assists while  Naaktgeboren included in the top 10 in Class 3A for rebounding. Clayberg was named to the Iowa Basketball Coaches Association Academic All-State team.

•Andre Hernandez ([email protected])